Glinda Go Zoom!

Mar. 22nd, 2026 06:56 pm
glinda: roller derby girls on track with lens flare (roller derby)
[personal profile] glinda
Oooft, I have missed skating.

(For the newer readers, I used to be a roller derby referee. Roller skating - quad skates - was a big part of my life for the back half of my twenties and my early thirties. I drifted away from it after I moved up to Inverness, but I’ve loved roller skating since I was a little kid, so while I don’t really miss derby these days I do miss skating.)

I’m still on my ice hockey kick after the Olympics and one of the knock-on effects is being really aware of how much I miss skating. I’ve been meaning to check when the public ice skating sessions are and try to convince one of my skating buddies to chum me along to a session for ages, and this weekend I finally did it. And it was great!

I haven’t been on any sort of skates since before the pandemic and I think the last time I was actual ice skates was in Princess Street Gardens just before Xmas 2013 when my then girlfriend decided that would be a cute date idea and then spent the whole session clinging to either the edges or my hand! I wasn’t sure how well it would go, but after a slightly wobbly start it all came back to me satisfyingly fast. (My buddy was even rustier but also got the hang of it eventually, we did a fair bit of skating round holding hands like kids because she’s had a stressful week and was getting into her head about it. That was pretty fun too. We had a lot of fun reminiscing about ice discos from our teen years.) The ice was a mess so I didn’t dare try crossovers or anything too fancy. (The kids team had practice that morning, and I don’t think they bothered to send the zamboni out between sessions as we got there at the start of the session and it was pretty roughed up already.) The rink skates are super rigid so my feet are a bit sore from that - actually I ache all over from nearly 90 minutes of skating, but I had so much fun. My buddy gave up after the first 45 mins of so and went and got a hot drink and heckled from the sidelines while I went zooming around gleefully with a big stupid grin on my face. I was high as a kite, all the good endorphins. We’re going back - or at least we’re going to try the rink at Aviemore instead. I cannot stop grinning!

( I do not need my own ice skates. I do not.)

weekend

Mar. 22nd, 2026 06:23 pm
tielan: Wonder Woman (WW - leap)
[personal profile] tielan
Weekend was crazy busy, and I ended up with a spoons crash on Sunday midafternoon. Ended up skipping church.

It was a really good weekend, though.

Mind you, it's now quarter to ten and I'm not yet in bed.

Going now.

Fic: The Count of Monte Cristo

Mar. 21st, 2026 02:49 pm
sanguinity: woodcut by M.C. Escher, "Snakes" (Default)
[personal profile] sanguinity
Life has been very busy and I am behind on posting all the things, but this morning I had a few free hours. I spent it writing fic.

Better than Tons of Gold and Cases of Diamonds

The Count of Monte Cristo - Alexandre Dumas for [archiveofourown.org profile] PhoenixFalls
Edmond Dantès/Abbé Faria
Imprisonment, Canon Compliant, Making the Subtext Text, No Betas We Die Like Abbé Faria
Major Character death, 1300 words

Dantès swore that nothing but death would part them. Nothing but death did. Scenes from a sort of marriage.

The last couple of weeks, I've been reading The Count of Monte Cristo with [tumblr.com profile] monte-cristo-daily. We're only just past the Château d'If, so please don't spoil me, I know nothing. (Right now Dantès is buying everyone boats: I heartily approve!)

But from the moment Abbé Faria was introduced, I shipped it. Alas, when I turned to AO3, I discovered this was a "when not even the sickos on AO3 have your back" kind of moment. So I fixed that. ;-)

Inaugural post for the 'ship, hooray!

(no subject)

Mar. 20th, 2026 08:52 pm
ursamajor: the Swedish Chef, juggling (bork bork bork!)
[personal profile] ursamajor
I spent half an hour of my one wild and precious life filling out the Serious Eats Starch Madness bracket, because the world is going to hell so why not. (I will take the tiny light that California will be renaming Cesar Chavez Day to Farmworkers Day, and still observing it as a state holiday. Better to honor farmworkers as a class rather than continue the grand American tradition of hero-worshipping fallible individuals and then being shocked that "good people" can do "bad things" because we refuse to understand nuance, let alone act intelligently upon it. But goddammit that's one hell of a missing stair.)

in which I get highly opinionated about baked goods, join me! 😁 )

Okay, I guess I should go figure out dinner that doesn't involve a stove because it got to 90F today, like 25-30F above normal. Rude. And yes, I started with ice cream. But I may need something a little more substantial.

The Friday Five

Mar. 20th, 2026 09:09 pm
nanila: me (Default)
[personal profile] nanila
The preceding two weeks of Friday Five questions didn't pique my interest, but this week's are great. Love a bit of meta-blogging. Thank you for the opportunity to navel-gaze.

  1. What was the reason you began a Dreamwidth or LiveJournal account (or both)?

    I started off on LJ in 2001 because everyone was doing it. I created an account and then let it sit for a couple of weeks while I figured out what it was for. I think it was victorine who prodded me into posting regularly and then I just…never stopped.

  2. How many DW or LJ communities do you subscribe to?

    A few dozen in total. Most of them are dead, the LJ communities in particular. The only one I participate in regularly is DW community [community profile] awesomeers, because I'm one of the two people who puts up the daily “Just One Thing” posts. I find it easier to write a short comment about my day there than to write up a full post, especially during the work week.

  3. Do you have a favorite community or one you check out often to see what's new?

    See above. I also enjoy [community profile] thefridayfive, and I like reading [community profile] threeforthememories during its annual spate of activity.

  4. How did you pick your user name?

    My current username is a play on my actual name. My original LJ name was “lilith” as that's the pseudonym I first adopted when I started interacting with online communities back in the 90s. Eventually I felt I'd outgrown it, and I've been nanila ever since.

  5. If you could change your user name, would you?

    That would genuinely be a big decision after more than 15 years of using this one, in a lot more places than DW and LJ. I'd have to do substantive additional navel-gazing to work out what it would be.

The Friday Five: Journals

Mar. 20th, 2026 10:01 am
seleneheart: (beautiful things -theoxymoron)
[personal profile] seleneheart
  1. What was the reason you began a Dreamwidth or LiveJournal account (or both)? I was reading Aragorn/Boromir fanfic on sites like Green Emeralds and The Fellowship and I followed the authors back to Livejournal, especially [personal profile] cruisedirector and [personal profile] ribby. I think Cruise might have given me the access codes for LJ. Then I bought a paid account in 2003. I came to Dreamwidth when it first started after Strikeout 2007 and posted both places for many years. In 2017, I deleted my original LJ and then a year later created a new one that has very minimal posting, never anything personal. I update it once a year to keep it going: [livejournal.com profile] raederle_of_an.


  2. How many DW or LJ communities do you subscribe to? On LJ, it's only 7 at the moment. And none of them seem to post except the [livejournal.com profile] spn_j2_bigbang. On DW, the number is 131.


  3. Do you have a favorite community or one you check out often to see what's new? I have divided the communities up into areas of interest using filters, so it depends on what I'm in the mood for. Right now, I'm most involved with [community profile] bookclub_dw as I'm modding that and trying to get it launched.


  4. How did you pick your user name? I originally wanted it to be 'Raederle' for my favorite fictional female character but that was already taken, so I tried 'Moonheart' for a beloved book, but that was also taken, so I substituted 'selene' for 'moon' and came up with Seleneheart. I didn't think about doing Raederle-of-An until much later.


  5. If you could change your user name, would you? Eh, probably not at this point. Between LJ and DW, it's been 'seleneheart' for 23 years.


  6. The following bonus questions are brought to you by the fact that I ([personal profile] anais_pf) have been unable to access any page of LiveJournal for more than a week (and therefore cannot post to The Friday Five there):

  7. If you have a LiveJournal, are you currently able to access it?
    Yes.


  8. Do you have any information about why one would be unable to access LiveJournal?
    I don't know - Russian shenanigans?

home and energy thoughts

Mar. 19th, 2026 07:49 pm
tielan: (AVG - maria 3)
[personal profile] tielan
What if I don't want to run the electricity in my household like a standard Australian household?
 
thinky thoughts )

(no subject)

Mar. 18th, 2026 10:12 am
seleneheart: (Boondock Saints)
[personal profile] seleneheart
1. What have you recently finished reading?
  • The Melancholy of Untold History by Minsoo Kang - it was an interesting set of myths and pre-history of an Asian-based fantasy world. I enjoyed it from that standpoint, but it was more like a textbook or collection of stories than an actual novel.


2. What are you currently reading?
  • The Hollow Places by T. Kingfisher. This is the [community profile] bookclub_dw read for March. I'm almost finished.

  • The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame. I've been feeling nostalgic and it will satisfy a book bingo square.


3. What will you be reading next?​
  • A Scandal in Mayfair by Katharine Schellman. I finally got my hands on a copy of this from the library. This will complete the Lily Adler Mysteries for me.

  • The Gales of November by John U. Bacon. Another one I've been waiting for from the library. I live in Michigan - this is practically required reading.



I'm a day late for the icon. IYKYK

four rides make a post

Mar. 17th, 2026 11:29 pm
ursamajor: people on the beach watching the ocean (Default)
[personal profile] ursamajor
One of these days, I will get around to making myself a bike icon or three. I've only been biking for transportation as an adult for 18 years now!

recent bike rides: coffee ride, bike party, Kidical Mass, and biking to the library to get a Star Trek-themed library card )

Still, I did take this most recent Sunday off from running because of the higher-than-normal activity, and squeezed a quick jog in this morning before the heatwave really set in. It should not be this close to 90F in the Bay Area in March, but at least I still have otter pops in the freezer. Worth noting: I'm finally at a point in my fitness where I can consistently jog 20 minutes in a row. I'm still slow af, but one of my fitness goals this year is to be able to jog a 5k without a significant walk break. I've done races in the past with run-walk intervals, I just want to broaden my toolset. And the cardio is good for breath control, key to singing, so I'm trying to encourage this virtuous feedback loop :)

Despite the heat, I had already defrosted the corned beef for boiled dinner for St. Patrick's Day dinner tonight, and it's one of [personal profile] hyounpark's faves from our Boston era, so tradition upheld. I also baked soda bread, or at least a slightly nontrad version that called for yogurt instead of the buttermilk we never have on hand. And of course I modded that; we do raisins or currants in ours, not nuts, and for once, I even had caraway seeds on hand thanks to a recent Buy Nothing spice exchange), and that came out so well we've already finished half the loaf. So I got that all on the stove as early as possible to not overheat the house.

In between all the biking and baking, we managed to sneak in brunch on the patio at Oceanview Diner with CJ and Chung and their kids. I ordered the souffle pancake, knowing it was going to show up as dessert, and it was worth the wait (and the looks on everyone's faces 😁 ). Their souffle pancake is really more of a Dutch baby, which their predecessor called a Dutch bunny when I would order it as a kid decades ago, fluffy and just a bit eggy and perfect.

It's too hot to sleep; I think I'll have another otter pop.

HR - Oscars and parties

Mar. 17th, 2026 08:52 pm
ruric: (Default)
[personal profile] ruric
Apparently having been supremely indifferent to men's fashion for my entire life I now have a burning interest in it?

I may have been glued to Threads for a while watching the pictures come through from the Oscars and pre- post- parties on Sunday and into the wee small hours of Monday morning.

I'm blaming these fools...



Click to embiggen.

There's also a hilarious video that goes with pic 2 on JR's instagram - last slide in that post - which makes me snort/giggle every time I watch it because of the awkwardness of it all.

I would like to flop tonight but I need to tick off some tasks from my endless "Do ALL The Things" list for sorting out my flat/life. Alas it is already 9:15pm. Wonder how much I can achieve in an hour/90 minutes?

What can I possibly bribe myself with as a reward if I'm a good girl and get shit done?
rydra_wong: Lee Miller photo showing two women wearing metal fire masks in England during WWII. (Default)
[personal profile] rydra_wong
https://transrightsreadathon.carrd.co/

March 17-31, 2026

The Trans Rights Readathon is an annual call to action to readers and book lovers in support of Trans Day of Visibility (TDOV) on March 31st.

We are calling on the reader community to read and uplift books written by and/or featuring trans, nonbinary, 2Spirit, and gender-nonconforming authors and characters.


As before, I would like to request that people shout out their favourite eligible books in the comments!

In summary

Mar. 16th, 2026 10:13 pm
nanila: wrong side of the mirror (me: wrong side of the mirror)
[personal profile] nanila
20260315_092736

I am in the middle of writing three different posts about the whirlwind of the last two weeks, but unfortunately the storm won't pass until the end of the month. In the meantime, Comet here sums things up.

so tired

Mar. 16th, 2026 09:00 am
tielan: (hates it we does)
[personal profile] tielan
Every time I lay down for a nap or an early night, or stay in bed for a longer sleep-in, I get disrupted by someone.

I'm not sleeping well. Is it a stress thing? A perimenopause thing? A thing with the weather? A 'life the universe and the end of the world as we know it' thing? Who even knows!

Unfortunately, I don't get a break in evening events until Thursday. And while I could stay home for each of them, in the first instance I'm the president, in the second a young woman is coming along for the first time, and in the third it's a social event.

I think I may have to take the sleeping drugs tonight. Well, melatonin.

Weeks 9-11 - this year is zooming by!

Mar. 16th, 2026 12:34 am
ruric: (Default)
[personal profile] ruric
I had a whole weekend at home - for the first time in 4 weeks! Remind me never to organise/volunteer for things that mean I have to work 3 Saturday's on the trot because that is exhausting. On the plus side I have a chunk of flexi leave to take.

So quick summary:


HOME: deep cleaned kitchen and sorted out a bunch for a recycling and tip run today. Next week it's deep cleaning the bathroom, and chipping away at the chaos and decluttering/#orjenising in the bedroom and living room. I have detailed bullet point lists and daily/weekly targets!

HEALTH still a bit FUBAR'd but improving. Finally took myself off to Toni and Guy's on Friday where a very firm hairdresser chopped off a significant amount of my hair. It had almost reached my waist and had way too many split ends. I got a free treatment (whatever product they used smelled awesome and made my hair super silky) and I now have a really simple cut - still long enough that I can put it up when gardening /at the gym, but short enough to wash and go and no danger of overnight knots. Today I got my piercings back - found a great piercer locally and I was just going to get single studs in each ear but happily we discovered 5 of my old piercings were still open! She popped new studs in those - because I have no idea where my old studs are - only the tons of dangley earrings on the board in my bedroom. She redid the middle piercing on my left ear and now I have all the shiny jewellery back. Once the current ones have settled down I'm going back to get my helix piercing redone - might get one each side.

LIFE ADMIN: still planning to move from Gmail once I've decluttered it. Applied for a postal vote as I'll be working local election day (7 May) as a poll clerk in Richmond so won't be around to vote locally. Have to make time to complete training for that and it will be a long day (5am to midnight including travel to/from) polling station.

DIGITAL DECLUTTER: have kept email at mail at 11,000 but not managed to reduce it; staying on top of transferring To Keep items from tablet to dropbox, my phone images storage is a mess.

GARDENING/ALLOTMENTING: nope - too cold and/or wet and lacked motivation.

COOKING/EATING: reboarded the takeaway train over the last week - there just seemed to be no time at all, long work days!

READING/LISTENING: LOL. Thank you Rachel Reid - read Game Changers, Heated Rivalry, Tough Guy, Common Goal, Role Model and The Long Game and now re-reading Heated Rivalry matching book chapters to rewatch episodes. What do you mean obsessed?

WATCHING: Heated Rivalry - 4th rewatch. Everything else is having to fit around that!

CREATING/LEARNING: several, projects on the go/nearing completion - spring wreath, Halloween blanket, granny square blanket, hexicardi, granny square bags x 2. Might get one or two done by the end of the month.

CATS: all good.

VOLUNTEERING: one new task to complete as of meeting last week.

SOCIALISING: a 3 hour call with [personal profile] gingerpig consisting of two hours of Heated Rivalry squee and one of catching up. A formal "WiLlYoUCoMeToMyCotTageThisEAsTer" invitation extended to [personal profile] ravurian - because, thanks to Show, I'm never going to be able to invite anyone to the cottage unless I adopt concussed-and-ever-so-slightly-high Shane's rhythm of speech.

WORK: much improvement - BRAG quarterly meeting went well, the Seed Swap was a success, the three consecutive Saturday's of work are over until 28 March which is my next weekend day of work. I've started the current round of inspections which is generating a ton of admin (which is this coming week's issue), I need to carve out some time to dealing with financial year end (how is it almost the end of March?!!!) and reprofile the capital budget.

It's going to be a long work week - think I'm going to work from home tomorrow as I should be able to plough through a chunk of admin uninterrupted. Tuesday through Friday lunchtime will be office days and site visits. Then I've got 30 bags of compost to shift from a site wide delivery down to my plot on Friday afternoon - say a prayer for my knees and back! Keeping my fingers crossed for sunshine and blue skies next week.

Heated Rivalry update

Mar. 16th, 2026 12:33 am
ruric: (pic#18359802)
[personal profile] ruric
LOL I am all up in everything HR so much so that it's not even funny. :o)

So the last time I posted I was 5 days in, had watched it once, bought the books and was just about to start a second rewatch - that was last Saturday.

I read all 6 books in 2.5 days, completed a second rewatch, randomly watched eps 3-6 across 4 nights (because why not?) and then decided it would be fun to match reading the relevant chapters of HR and then watch the relevant episodes. I got as far as ep 3 and then got distracted by more cast interviews and HR insta and threads.

Yeserday I disappeared down the YouTube rabbit hole of fan vids - so now I have 193 open tabs across 2 browser windows, there's music playing, I have no idea where it's coming from and I'm in the middle of curating playlists on my YouTube. I need to remember how to DL from YouTube because I want a good chunk of those vids accessible to me at all times and never worry about them being pulled.

I may be curating playlists on Spotify for my gym workouts because HR bvidders use great music for their vids. And...um...I have a bunch of meta posts bookmarked to go back and read properly after the current rewatch.

Still noticing new things - all the subtle little whispered remarks that weren't obvious on first or second viewing. I need to see the whole series on a screen bigger than my tablet.

I'm catching up on the cast interviews which I'm finding delightful and astonishing. I mean the 3 minute social media sound bites, wild humour and meeting fans where they live was an absolute gift - but the long form interviews with their openness, vulnerability and in depth discussions are just blowing my mind.

Still steering clear of fanfic - because there are only 24 hours in a day - and I'm not sure I have time for an "Inception" level fandom event in my life - though I suspect I'm fighting a failed rearguard action there. Inception inhabited my brain for 2.5 years and with S2 of Heated Rivalry not airing until '27 and (please god) a potential further season - it's quite possible I'll be fully consumed by this until 2028.

Around all of that it's been super busy at work and I've been making a bunch of appointments/ running errands which come under the heading of "Get Your Shit Together" but for the first time in months I feel like I'm fully firing on all cylinders.

Not sure how much of that is down to the Little Canadian Hockey Romance That Could or whether it's due to the fact that we've had more than a few days of sunshine, warmth and blue skies (and not the dreary grey, wet and miserable days we've had since before Christmas) - whatever! I'm running with it.
seleneheart: (woodcut surfboard)
[personal profile] seleneheart
The Melancholy of Untold History by Minsoo Kang



Blurb:
I'm going to put the blurb behind cut tags because I feel like it spoils too much of the book. the blurb )

This read like a history book instead of a novel. Like the history of a fantasy land. I found it hard to really engage with it. Like if we had The Silmarillion but not The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings. Would we care about The Silm if we didn't have the experience of the previous works?

As far as a collection of myths go, it was delightful.
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 03:06 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios